CAIRH - Roy Hart International Arts Center
Chateau de Malérargues
F-30140 Thoiras +33 466 85 45 98

THE VOICE WORK

figure_workshop

WORK ON THE VOICE as practised and taught by Roy Hart Theatre teachers is an art and can be a liberating and exciting experience. The work is both pragmatic and imaginative and can have a psychological affect on restricting patterns of behavior and habits of thought, bringing life and vitality to an individual, or to an artistic creation.

ALFRED WOLFSOHN was the founder of the special style of voice training, popularly known as the Roy Hart Theatre approach. His experiences of the cries of dying soldiers during World War I, and later his disgust at the artificially broadcast voices heard everywhere in Hitler’s Berlin, led him to explore the nature and possibilities of the voice. A pioneer in the realm of voice research, his avant-garde studies revealed the potential of the voice as not only an instrument of artistic expression but also of human development, psychology, and therapy. “The voice is the muscle of the soul”.

ROY HART THEATRE work is body-oriented, stimulating, and provocative. With emphasis on the uniqueness of each voice, the teaching seeks to inform and strengthen the ‘normal’ vocal range. However, the work also tries to develop in each person’s voice greater height and depth, and even, other voices. All this helps to increase the musical and theatrical ability of each student. The majority of the teachers at the Centre were taught by Roy Hart. Since their move from London to Malérargues in 1974, they have added years of experience in voice, theatre, music, dance, art, movement training, and psychology. Widely known for their sympathetic and professional qualities, each teacher brings special experience and the fruits of their own creative research. Throughout the year invited teachers and scholars bring their particular professional skills and fresh perspectives to the Centre. Most courses are open to everyone. Some are especially designed for beginners who wish to discover RHT work, while others have a particular orientation and are more closely linked to specific disciplines. All courses are accredited by the French government. Participant numbers are limited to ensure that each student receives individual attention.


Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Share on LinkedIn

CAIRH - Roy Hart International Arts Center
Chateau de Malérargues
F-30140 Thoiras +33 466 85 45 98

LE TRAVAIL DE LA VOIX

figure_workshop

LE TRAVAIL DE LA VOIX pratiqué et enseigné par les professeurs Roy Hart est un art et peut aussi être une expérience libératrice. Cependant, c’est un travail à la fois pragmatique et imaginal (l’imaginal relie le monde intelligible et le monde sensible) qui aide souvent à se frayer un chemin au-delà de modèles restreignants, en apportant vie et vitalité à la personne ou au travail de création artistique.

ALFRED WOLFSOHN fut le fondateur d’un travail vocal d’un style particulier, plus couramment connu aujourd’hui sous le nom de méthode Roy Hart Theatre. Son expérience, témoignant des cris de soldats mourants pendant la Première guerre mondiale, et plus tard son dégoût pour les voix artificiellement diffusées et partout audibles dans le Berlin de Hitler, l’ont conduit à explorer la nature et les possibilités transformatrices de la voix. Pionnier dans les domaines de la recherche vocale, ses études d’avant-garde ont révélé le potentiel de la voix pas seulement en tant qu’instrument d’expression artistique mais aussi de développement humain et de thérapie. “La voix est le muscle de l’âme.”

Le travail est provocant, stimulant et physique. En mettant particulièrement l’accent sur le caractère unique de chaque voix, nous travaillons à développer et consolider le registre « normal » de la voix puis à explorer l’étendue vocale vers les registres aigus et graves en découvrant des voix nouvelles et en augmentant le potentiel d’expression musicale et théâtrale. Le travail est apprécié par les artistes du spectacle vivant (acteurs, comédiens, chanteurs, danseurs etc.) par des professionnels et par toute personne intéressée par la communication. La plupart des stages sont ouverts à tous. Certains s’adressent particulièrement aux débutants qui veulent découvrir le travail du Roy Hart Théâtre, tandis que d’autres ont des thèmes spécifiques. Le nombre de participants est limité afin d’assurer la qualité du travail individuel. La plupart des intervenants du Centre, artistes et professeurs, ont travaillé avec Roy Hart et ses élèves. Depuis leur implantation à Malérargues en 1974, ils ont acquis des années d’expérience inter-disciplinaires dans les domaines de la voix, du théâtre, de la musique, de la danse, des arts plastiques, du mouvement et de la psychologie. Reconnus pour leur qualité professionnelle, chacun d’entre eux apporte son expérience propre et les fruits de sa recherche personnelle. Tout au cours de l’année, des artistes et professeurs invités, des étudiants, boursiers pour certains, des chercheurs, apportent leurs pratiques spécifiques et ouvrent de nouvelles perspectives de recherche et de collaboration pour le Centre. Certains des cours ont obtenu l’agréement de la formation professionnelle.

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Share on LinkedIn