CAIRH - Roy Hart International Arts Center
Chateau de Malérargues
F-30140 Thoiras +33 466 85 45 98

CAIRH

table2

The Centre Artistique International Roy Hart (CAIRH) is a democratic association that exists to foster the dynamic heritage of Roy Hart Theatre. Roy Hart Theatre is known for its unique work on vocal expression and the extension of the human voice. It has its origins in the work of Alfred Wolfsohn, and his research into the links between the voice and soul. He wrote,

“I live by breathing in and breathing out. I sing by transforming this breath into sound, sound which in turn forms the material for the contents of the soul”.

Many of his pupils continued the work after his death in London, and at the instigation of Roy Hart, they created a radical production of The Bacchae (1968), which drew the attention of Jerzy Grotowski, Peter Brook, Jack Lang, and Jean Louis Barrault (among others) and prompted the creation of Roy Hart Theatre. Over twenty-five productions toured in Europe, the USA, South America, Israel and North Africa. Gradually new companies — Panthéâtre, Archipelago and Amadée were formed within Roy Hart Theatre, which led to the creation of the Centre Artistique International Roy Hart (1991). These companies and other members of the original Roy Hart Theatre company continue to explore the voice, to create, perform, and teach at the Centre and all over the world. To this day, the work of Roy Hart Theatre is recognised as one of the major influences in the field of voice in both its artistic and personal applications. The task of the CAIRH is to bring together and promote all the unique voices of this heritage in a professional and democratic way while maintaining the ethical profundity of Wolfsohn’s and Hart’s vision for the future. A path is being laid for the embodiment of this experience in future generations through pedagogic programmes for new teachers.

The CAIRH is a French ‘Association 1901′, which is much more than the English language equivalent, ‘Non profit making organisation’. It is run by a board of directors (Conseil d’administration) elected by its members. The objectives of the Association are:

  • To develop the creative and teaching activities of the Roy Hart International Artistic Centre, previously known as The Roy Hart Theatre.
  • To manage the artistic and intellectual legacy of Alfred Wolfsohn, Roy Hart and of The Roy Hart Theatre.
  • To continue artistic research, especially in the area of the human voice.
  • To produce and host theatre & music performances; to organise courses and art exhibitions.

The Annual General Meeting takes place in Malérargues in summer; an Extraordinary General Meeting may be held during Members Week, which often takes place at the opening of the new season around Easter time. Members Week – open to all members – is a time of exchange of ideas, performances and teaching. All members are covered by the insurance of the Centre while they are working at Malérargues. They receive at least two newsletters each year, early notification of programmes at Malérargues and elsewhere, special price offers for workshops and performances and access to studios at Malérargues for their own creative work.

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Share on LinkedIn

CAIRH - Roy Hart International Arts Center
Chateau de Malérargues
F-30140 Thoiras +33 466 85 45 98

CAIRH

table2

Situé au coeur des collines cévenoles, le Centre Artistique International Roy Hart (le CAIRH) a pour mission de protéger et de promouvoir l’héritage vivant du Roy Hart Théâtre. Le Roy Hart Théâtre est renommé pour son travail unique dans le domaine de l’expression vocale et de l’extension des registres de la voix humaine. Il puise ses racines dans le travail d’Alfred Wolfsohn et sa recherche sur les liens existant entre la voix et l’âme.

“Je vis en inspirant et en expirant. Je chante en transformant ce souffle en son, ce son qui, à son tour, forme la matière de l’âme.”

Ses élèves ont poursuivi le travail à Londres après sa mort et, à l’instigation de Roy Hart, ils ont créé en 1968 « Les Bacchantes », une création d’avant-garde qui a attiré l’attention de Jerzy Grotowsky, Peter Brook, Jack Lang et Jean-Louis Barrault (entre autres), et qui mènera à la création du Roy Hart Théâtre. Dans les années suivantes, plus de vingt-cinq productions Roy Hart Théâtre tournent en Europe, aux USA, en Amérique du Sud, en Israël, en Afrique du Nord. Progressivement, de nouvelles compagnies se créent au sein même de la troupe initiale : « Panthéâtre », « Archipelago », « Compagnie Amadée », ce qui conduit finalement à la création du Centre Artistique International Roy Hart en 1991. Aujourd’hui, ces compagnies et les membres fondateurs du Roy Hart Théâtre poursuivent leur recherche sur la voix, créent, se produisent et enseignent partout dans le monde. Le Roy Hart Théâtre est reconnu pour avoir exercé une influence majeure dans le domaine de la voix et ses applications artistiques et humaines. La tâche du CAIRH est de rassembler et de promouvoir toutes les voix uniques de ce patrimoine de manière professionnelle et démocratique, et d’offrir un avenir à l’oeuvre d’Alfred Wolfsohn et de Roy Hart tout en conservant la profondeur éthique de leur vision. Le CAIRH propose des programmes de formation pour transmettre le coeur de cette expérience à de nouvelles générations d’enseignants. Le CAIRH est une « Association loi 1901″. Elle est dirigée par un conseil d’administration élu par ses membres. Cette association a pour but :

  • de développer les activités artistiques et pédagogiques du Centre Artistique International Roy Hart, dit Roy Hart Théâtre;
  • de gérer le patrimoine artistique et intellectuel d’Alfred Wolfsohn, de Roy Hart et du Roy Hart Théâtre; de poursuivre des recherches artistiques en particulier dans le domaine de la voix humaine; de créer et d’accueillir des représentations théâtrales et musicales, d’organiser des stages et des expositions artistiques.

L’assemblée générale annuelle a lieu à Malérargues fin juillet ou début août. Une assemblée générale extraordinaire se déroule parfois durant la Semaine des membres qui se situe autour de l’ouverture de la nouvelle saison, à Pâques. On y échange des idées et des pratiques d’enseignement et on assiste à des représentations. Les membres reçoivent au moins deux newsletters par an. Ils sont informés en priorité des programmes à Malérargues et ailleurs. Ils bénéficient de prix promotionnels pour les ateliers et les spectacles. Ils ont accès aux studios à Malérargues pour leur propre travail de création.

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Share on LinkedIn